Wk3 – Artist Conversation – Josh Vasquez

Artist- Josh Vasquez

Exhibition- Rosado

Media- spray paint, sharpies, plastic trash bags, dried flowers

Gallery- CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West

Website- https://www.linkedin.com/in/josh-vasquez-23a93a25

Joshua Vasquez is a graduate at California State University, Long Beach. His major was communication studies, and was also a brother of the Zeta Beta Tau fraternity. He is from the city of Los Angeles. His art style in the exhibit that was being showcased was composed of primarily black and white artwork, using mediums such as sharpie and plastic bags.

I found the exhibition quite intriguing. From afar, the artwork appeared very clean and symmetrical, however, when you got up close, you saw the rawness and realness of the pieces. He used plastic trash bags as his canvas, and used household items such as sharpies and spray paint to create his ideas. He also had dried flowers running along the floor, which was aesthetically pleasing to the eye. Also, the pieces has a lot of movement going on, mostly in circular patterns. It was interesting to see how much depth he could add to the artwork while using very inexpensive and common materials.

During my conversation with Josh, I discovered that he is extremely passionate about his work and what he creates. In his piece, “Rosado”, I asked him what he was thinking about while creating it. He said that he was thinking about a rose, so he started drawing and painting in a circular motion to create a rough image of a rose. The idea was to create tension from the opposite ideas of a typically rose in black and white. He said that he does quite of bit of preparation before beginning to work on the final product. Before hand, he sketches out the ideas that he has and visualizes them in his head as well. When I asked Josh what he wishes his viewers take away from his artwork, he explained that it is up to the viewer to interpret the painting however he or she wishes. This tells me that he is very open to what people think about his art. A majority of his artwork was in black and white, which is in contrast to the array of colorful flowers he had going through the middle of the room, adding to his idea of creating tension between contrasting ideas.

Seeing this exhibition for myself and listening to Josh’s ideas and concepts really resonated with me. I think what interested me the most was his idea to use trash bags as a medium for his work. Trash bags are used to discard things that people don’t want anymore, and I think it is extremely innovative that he takes them and turns them into beautiful pieces of art. I also think it is interesting that he used sharpies, a medium that I have easy access to. It showed me that I can create my own artwork with simple objects that are lying around me right this second. Overall, I had a great experience conversing and touring the art galleries this week.

Leave a Reply

