Wk2-Art Experience-Plaster Casting

As you may be able to tell, I had a few struggles with this project. I skated to Belmont Shore with my supplies in hand, found a spot on the beach, and started the process. I got the sand wet and molded my hand in the shape of the “hang loose” sign, and started mixing the plaster. I had never worked with plaster before, so I was not sure how long I should stir until I pour it into the mold. As it turns out, I stirred it for far too long, and as a result, it caused part of the mold to collapse on itself when I poured the plaster in. I’m now left with about half of the hang loose sign, and from a certain angle, it could possibly look like a thumbs up. If I ever do this project again, now I know not to stir the plaster for as long as I did.

Leave a Reply

